Thirteen Reasons Why

Introduction and Yesterday After School

Cassette 1 side A
Cassette 1 Side B
Cassette 2 Side A
Cassette 2 Side B
Cassette 3 Side A
Cassette 3 Side B
Cassette 4 Side A
Cassette 4 Side B
Cassette 5 Side A
Cassette 5 Side B
Cassette 6 Side A
Cassette 6 Side B
Cassette 7 Side A
The Next Day After Mailing the Tapes
Plot Synopsis
Memorable Quotes
Reasoning for Characters Last Names
Suicide Information Links



The novel begins with these two.  The first one describes Clay sending Hannah’s tapes to Jenny after he listens to them.  Clay appears to be completely clueless to his surroundings.  He is noticeably upset, and very hurt.  The next chapter begins with Clay receiving the tapes.  Clay is very excited about receiving the package.  He opens the package to find seven audio tapes with a number on each side of each tape ranging from one to 13.  Curious of what is on the tapes, Clay finds a tape player and puts the first tape in.


These chapters are juxtaposed.  Clay’s excitement that is described in the second chapter turns into the sadness described in the introduction.  These two chapters are next to each other to show what happens to someone after listening to Hannah’s tapes.  Reading these two chapters are together also makes the reader wonder what happened in between the time that Clay got home from school to the next morning, when Clay sends the tapes. 


By: Hallie Berger, Adam Gorman, Becca Millman, Ari Terebelo